I recently watched the movie “Hugo.” One of my favorite scenes in the movie is when Isabelle and Hugo are standing in a grand library at a train station in Paris.  Isabelle – who is friends with the librarian – asks Hugo if he wants a book.  His response is no.  In horror, Isabelle exclaims, “Don’t you like books?”  Indeed, Isabelle is my kindred spirit (as Anne Shirley of  Anne of Green Gables fame would say).

I love books.  I love to read. I love learning.  I love learning in all kinds of ways and from anything I have the opportunity to engage with.  But I especially love books.

I love music.  I love to sing.  I love to dance (for fun, not for show!).  And I’m not sure there is anything that can transform my mood and energy quite like a great song can.

I love God.  I love Jesus.  I love having faith discussions with others and deepening my own knowledge and understanding of the marvelous, awe-inspiring God who set our cosmos into motion with just a few words.

All of learning is connected for me.  As spiritual beings created in the very image of God, all that we learn about ourselves and about our world is woven together with and affects our view and understanding of God.

This space is about how my love for God and my love for learning (especially through books) come together to provide a spiritual education – an ongoing journey of falling in love over and over again with our amazing creator.  I’m excited to share this journey with you and I’m looking forward to all I get to learn from you as well.

Welcome to A Spiritual Education.

Let’s love to learn about God and learn to love God together.

